Your roving reporter needs… Your help!?

Standard

Yes! I need you, my dear reader/follower! And here’s why…

Everything I do now is voluntary. I do all my album reviews, gig reviews and interviews for free. I’m not getting paid to travel to the venues. Most of the time the artists/bands are very generous and put me on the press list for example so I can attend the gigs I need to review.

I interviewed both small and big artists/bands. Big artists like Steve Hackett, Adrian Belew, Tony Levin… And I always had fun during my interviews!

I don’t mind doing it for free, I would love to do it for free my whole life… But sadly we live in a world where you need money to survive… To have food on the table and a roof above your head. I don’t have a decent income for years, and I’m living with no income at all for a year now. My biggest ‘sponsor’ can’t sponsor me for long anymore.

I was thinking about a Kickstarter project or setting up a Patreon profile, but that’s not actually something that would really help me. A Kickstarter project is only a one time event and with a Patreon profile you have to set up ‘goals’, while my goals are already reached, I just need to get paid for what I do already. What I need is a radio station/magazine/company/something/someone that pays me for what I do. I know, it will be tough, and I’m not the only one out there… And that’s why I need your help! You probably know a radio station/magazine/company/something/someone that might me interested in my work and would be willing to pay me.

Yes, I was also thinking about setting something up myself, but I don’t know if I can do that alone. I was thinking about a digital magazine (note: not website. A magazine, like a paper magazine, only you read it on your computer screen instead of paper) containing my reviews and interviews, but that would be a lot of work. I’m not a business woman, so setting up a tight working scheme is not my strength… I’m actually a big scatterbrain who ‘goes with the flow’. Tight schedules and stress are actually my biggest enemies, haha. Anyway, I’m drifting off now! What would help is to find people who would like to join me and help me with setting something up that hopefully generates money in the future.

Well, I hope I’m clear enough with my ‘cry for help’ (uhm… Cry for help? Like I’m crying my eyes out behind my desk at the moment… Well, sometimes I do cry behind my desk, but not now).

Thank you very much for reading, and hopefully thank you for helping!

Big hug!

Iris, aka Ier!

PS: As you can see, there’s a ‘subscribe’ section on the left side of the page (just under ‘categories’). When you enter your email address (or click the ‘follow’ button) you will get my latest posts/updates automatically in your inbox!

13062198_10208115965872893_643057166806569662_n

13 thoughts on “Your roving reporter needs… Your help!?

  1. Paul Tinker

    I’m afraid I can’t help in the things you need.
    Being broke all the time is a bitch. I know the feeling well.
    But I can give you something money can’t buy.
    Friendship and Love.
    Xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sheri Geddygirl Beri

    ❤ ❤ ❤ Love and hugs …wish I was rich I would support your interviews and writing. So fabulous they are….just like you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hans- Joachim Rietdorff

    I’ m afraid. I can’ t help you here out of germany. I can see the problem facts that you have indeed. I would really support you if i can, believe me, please. I wish you all the best luck that need.

    Many friendly greetings from germany
    Hans- Joachim Rietdorff
    ( PS : I know my posting don’t use for that what you needing for. But perhaps my few words make you a bit hopefully ! I hope i don’t annoy you with that what i wrote. If it’s so then exuse me, please.)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Frank Peters

    Hi Iris, wrote some advice already.. and there’s not much I can do for you (not before we are famous AND rich 😉 Suppose you had a good online magazine and your 1800 ”friends” would subscribe and pay a small amount per month like a euro?
    I wonder who doesn’t want to share a dollar with you!!

    Kind regards,
    Frank

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much for your reply dear Frank! 🙂 Yes, if every Facebook friend of mine would donate one euro I would be ‘rich’, haha! I’m still busy setting up something, so who knows? 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

