Personal Playlist by Iris (27 May 2016)

Standard

Time for a new playlist again! Here are some albums I’ve listened to recently…

frostlabummarchI know, this is not the first time I’ve posted this in a playlist, but I just can’t get enough of this wonderful masterpiece. Falling Satellites by Frost* is just an amazing album, one of the best albums of 2016 so far! The album is officially released today, so go buy it now! Read my review about this album here, and you can read my interview I had with Jem Godfrey here.

 

3021An album from Paradise Lost that doesn’t sound like Paradise Lost at all. Host was released back in 1999, and is not something you would call ‘metal’ (and I thought the band members aren’t really proud of this album either). I do love this album, that has a lot of dark synth-rock influences and catchy riffs. Permanent Solution is one of my all time favourite tracks. They will release a brand new album in June this year, and I’m very curious!

 

fear of a blank planetMy most favourite Porcupine Tree album of the Gavin Harrison era is Fear Of A Blank Planet. I wrote something about this album in my Part II post of my introduction to Porcupine Tree, which you can read here (and if you’re also interested in reading Part I, click here).

 

a1831954449_5A brand new album from Yugen named Death By Water. Not really my taste of music, most tracks on the album are very experimental and inimitable. Somehow, the title track Death By Water reminds me of the album Insurgentes by Steven Wilson. I do think that a lot of people who like avant-garde can appreciate this album!

 

marillion-holidays-in-edenLast, but not least; Marillion with Holidays In Eden. The second album with Steve Hogarth on vocals. A very good album in my opinion, although it leans a lot to pop music. I can’t wait for their 18th album named FEAR (F*** Everyone And Run), which will be released later this year. I’m busy writing a personal story about my introduction to Marillion‘s music, so please keep an eye on the page!

 

Liked what you’ve read? Please feel free to sponsor me, so I can continue providing you interviews, reviews, stories and more fun stuff of your favourite bands and artists! Click on the ‘Donate’ button on the top left side of the page (or click on the plus on the top left side of the page when you’re reading this on your mobile device/tablet). You don’t need a PayPal account to donate! Just one dollar/euro/pound can help me a lot! Read about what happens with your donation money here. Thank you very much! 

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube & Google +! Subscribe by entering you email address, or click on the follow button when you already have a WordPress account, so you will get my latest posts automatically in your inbox!

Leave a Reply

