Top 5 Opeth albums by Iris

Standard

Opeth will be releasing their twelfth studio album named Sorceress at the end of this month. I’m very curious about the album, and I will probably write a review about it soon! In the meantime I made a top five of my most favourite Opeth albums so far…

 

opeth-blackwater_park-frontalOn place number five we have Blackwater Park (2001). According to many fans one of the best albums, and I absolutely agree. The album sleeve is also very beautiful, like most albums of Opeth.

 

 

opethdeliPlace number four is for Deliverance (2002). An album that contains a lot of darker, heavier moments, but that makes the album also very good! A Fear Judgement is one of my all time favourite tracks, I really adore the guitar solo.

 

 

189598Third place is for Watershed (2008). This album is my introduction to Opeth‘s music, and I would recommend this as a good introduction album for people who are not familiar with their music. My favourite track on the album is Burden by the way.

 

 

opeth-ghost-reveriesSecond place is for Ghost Reveries (2005). This album contains the perfect mixture of dark, heavy moments and beautiful softer moments. The track Atonement does remind me a bit of Porcupine Tree‘s track Dark Matter, and is also my favourite track on this album.

 

 

1000x1000On place number one we have… Damnation (2003)! This album is also my most played Opeth album, just because it’s a wonderful masterpiece. All tracks are wonderful gems and I always recommend this album to people who are not into growls and heavy guitars, because they are nowhere to be found on this album.

 

I wonder if Sorceress will be changing my top 5 soon!

Liked what you’ve read? Please feel free to sponsor me, so I can continue providing you interviews, reviews, stories and more fun stuff of your favourite bands and artists! Click on the ‘Donate’ button on the top left side of the page (or click on the plus on the top left side of the page when you’re reading this on your mobile device/tablet). You don’t need a PayPal account to donate! Just one dollar/euro/pound can help me a lot! Read about what happens with your donation money here. Thank you very much! 

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube & Google +! Subscribe by entering you email address, or click on the follow button when you already have a WordPress account, so you will get my latest posts automatically in your inbox!

5 thoughts on “Top 5 Opeth albums by Iris

  1. johnstout64

    It’ll be interesting to see if Sorceress splits the fanbase further. A lot of folk have already written it off as a dud. Me? I like the death metal AND mellow prog sides equally, and I’d rather Mikael made music true to his muse rather than compromise for “fans”. We’ll know soon enough.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment