Personal Playlist by Iris (20 May 2016)

Standard

A month since I posted my latest playlist, so it’s time for a new one! Here are some albums where I’ve listened to lately…

Katatonia-The-Fall-of-Hearts-e1457989536899A big thank you to Markwin Meeuws of Progstreaming for pointing out to the brand new Katatonia album, named The Fall Of Hearts. A true gem of an album. If you like progressive, melodic doom metal you should check this out! Maybe I will review this album someday, but I have tons of other albums to review still.

 

jellyjamprofitcdWhat do you get when you put John Myung (Dream Theater), Ty Tabor (King’s X) and Rod Morgenstein (The Dixie Dregs) in one band? A Jelly Jam… Well, actually The Jelly Jam! I just reviewed this album named Prophet/Profit for Background Magazine. I will post the review on my page too once it’s published, so please keep an eye on the page! This album will be released in late May 2016.

 

R-215504-1265058116.jpegOk, it’s time again for an album where Tim Bowness is contributing on! Peter Chilvers and Tim made a lovely album named California, Norfolk, and was released back in 2002. The music itself is dreamy, slightly dark from time to time and reminds me a bit of the album Flame, which Tim Bowness made together with Richard Barbieri (you can read a review about that album here). Tim announced on his website that he and Peter are busy with making a new album together, so I’m very excited!

 

The_Dear_Hunter_-_Act_IV_Cover_ArtThe Dear Hunter is a band that I discovered thanks to House of Prog. Their latest album Act IV: Rebirth In Reprise is a great album, which was released back in 2015. Not all tracks are my personal music taste, but the album has some pearls of songs! It’s folky, proggy, refreshing, and the singer has an amazing voice!

 

affinityLast, but not least: Haken with  their brand new album named Affinity. A big thank you to Angelo Hulshout of Angelo’s Rock Orphanage for letting me ‘rediscover’ Haken again! It’s like Gentle Giant on steroids! Maybe I will review this album along with the Katatonia album, but we will see!

 

Liked what you’ve read? Please feel free to sponsor me, so I can continue providing you interviews, reviews, stories and more fun stuff of your favourite bands and artists! Click on the ‘Donate’ button on the top left side of the page (or click on the plus on the top left side of the page when you’re reading this on your mobile device/tablet). You don’t need a PayPal account to donate! Just one dollar/euro/pound can help me a lot! Read about what happens with your donation money here. Thank you very much! 

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube & Google +! Subscribe by entering you email address, or click on the follow button when you already have a WordPress account, so you will get my latest posts automatically in your inbox!

Leave a comment