Anderson/Stolt – Invention Of Knowledge (2016)

Standard

Jon Anderson of Yes and Roine Stolt of The Flower Kings, making an album together? Why not? I always had the feeling The Flower Kings are heavily influenced by (early) Yes. The two blokes surrounded themselves with guest musicians like Tom Brislin, Daniel Gildenlöw and Nad Sylvan, and (ex) members of The Flower Kings for this album.

Let’s come straight to the point. This sounds more like Yes than ever! But without the flashy bits and pieces (more about that later on in this article). I secretly hoped for something completely different, but why should I ever expect that? Silly me! Jon has a good voice on this album in my opinion, I heard from several people that his voice isn’t what it used to be, but according to me he does a great job. You can hear that Roine Stolt is influenced a lot by Steve Howe’s guitar playing style, but if you’re an avid fan of The Flower Kings you probably already heard it on their albums. While most of the songs carry (or dragging, what you prefer) the Yes vibe with music scores of Flower Kings, the track Everybody Heals reminds me largely of early era Flower Kings.

The complete album just ‘ripples’ along the stream, if you know what I mean. No spectacular turns and twists or surprising elements, while that is something you would assume with Yes. Consider this as a Yes-light. The album is more than one hour long, a bit on the long side for me to keep my full attention. If you’re a big fan of Yes and/or The Flower Kings, then this album is a must have for your collection. If you don’t like Yes and/or The Flower Kings, then this is something you probably would appreciate as someone plays it during a visit, but not something you would buy yourself. I have to admit that I probably appreciate it more when I give it more spins in the future. This is certainly a ‘grower’, and presumably not only for me. Before you guys think I’m probably writing this from an ‘anti-fan’ view… I am actually a fan of Yes and I can really appreciate The Flower Kings! This album gets four out of five stars.

Note: As you may have noticed I only mentioned one track of the complete album. This is clearly an album you should ‘experience’ in its entirety instead of track for track. The album consists of four long tracks, each divided into several parts.

**** Iris Hidding

Invention Of Knowledge:

  1. Invention (9:39)
  2. We Are Truth (6:41)
  3. Knowledge (6:31)

Knowing:

  1. Knowing (10:31)
  2. Chase And Harmony (7:17)

Everybody Heals:

  1. Everybody Heals (7:35)
  2. Better By Far (2:03)
  3. Golden Light (3:30)

Know:

  1. Know (11:13)

http://www.insideoutmusic.com/index.aspx

http://flowerkings.se/

http://www.jonanderson.com/

You can listen to some album teasers here:

You can also read my review on House of Prog:

http://houseofprog.com/blog/2016/06/07/andersonstolt-invention-of-knowledge-2016/

You can also read my review on Background Magazine:

http://backgroundmagazine.nl/CDreviews/AndersonStoltInventionOfKnowledge.html

I mentioned this album in my previous playlist:

https://grendelhq.wordpress.com/2016/06/06/personal-playlist-by-iris-6-june-2016/

Liked what you’ve read? Please feel free to sponsor me, so I can continue providing you interviews, reviews, stories and more fun stuff of your favourite bands and artists! Click on the ‘Donate’ button on the top left side of the page (or click on the plus on the top left side of the page when you’re reading this on your mobile device/tablet). You don’t need a PayPal account to donate! Just one dollar/euro/pound can help me a lot! Read about what happens with your donation money here. Thank you very much! 

Follow me on Facebook, Twitter, YouTube & Google +! Subscribe by entering you email address, or click on the follow button when you already have a WordPress account, so you will get my latest posts automatically in your inbox!

12074703_10154044883965439_726321553244053807_n

 

 

16 thoughts on “Anderson/Stolt – Invention Of Knowledge (2016)

  1. Hans- Joachim Rietdorff

    Hello, Iris,
    the surprise and the huge fact for me is that when i read your review it’s exactly as if you hear the album at the same time although you never knowing of them before. You have the big talent to take it in words like they used to play. A big compliment to you and make go on ..👍Sorry if my words not correct in the grammatical order !

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much for your reply Hans Joachim! Your post is very clear to me, no worries. Thank you for your compliments about my review, I feel very flattered! 🙂

      Like

  2. As always great review Lady Ier ! I’m not a big Yes/solo fan but this album does remind me of their Tales from Topographical Oceans where it’s 4 songs but a double album ! It was always Anderson’s voice I just couldn’t get past but I will definitely give this one a whirl and see where it takes me : )

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Jon Anderson Hughes

    I am looking forward to seeing and hearing Jon Anderson, Rick Wakeman and Trevor Rabin in Durham, NC October 9th. My tickets are all ready ordered. You can see by my name my dad is a true Yes fan.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hello Jon! Thank you very much for your reply! Very cool you’re going to see them in October. Awesome that your dad named you after Jon! 🙂

      Like

  4. I really love this album, I have the mp3 format, found somewhere… Jon’s is brilliant and Roine plays as a good Steve Howe. There is no bad song in this album, I look forward to the bundle ” Red vinyl and CD”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment